The Importance of Perserverance

Here at  Washington Youth Soccer, we work every day to create the most qualified coaches in the nation. In 2011, we certified 1,000 plus coaches through our Coaching Education program.

In Coaching Education there are various levels of licensing that coaches can achieve. Beginning with an E Certificate, coaches can proceed up the Coaching Education Pyramid through the National A License. Coaching Education courses provide a crucial foundation of knowledge to ensure that youth players across the nation have qualified coaches and the pursuit of a higher coaching license (C-A) demands long hours of classroom lectures and field sessions, mental focus and preparation, and additionally physical commitment.

Over the past 18 months, Washington has hosted 3 National C Licenses courses, a notable task for a state organization. Given our involvement in the Coaching Education program, US Soccer approached our state to host a National C License Re-Test Course.

This weekend, 25 coaches will take part in US Soccer’s National C License Re-test being held at Starfire Sports Complex.  This course is designed for coaches who were deemed “Not Ready” in their initial C license course to have a second try at achieving their National C License.  A National C license course is not easy by any means. In total, the course is 68 hours, extending over 8 long days packed with intense sessions.  The course is not only mentally tiring, but additionally physically grueling. Course candidates participate in every session playing – nearly 4 hours of soccer daily.

Since their initial C license course, these coaches participating in the RE-test this weekend have been hard at work spending hours training on the field, as well as in the classroom.

These coaches possess an invaluable quality that we can all take a lesson from; PERSERVERANCE. Told “No” once, the coaches set their sights on what they wanted to achieve and committed. This takes a great deal of courage.
Napoleon Hill is one of my favorite authors and sources of inspiration. His below quote is quite applicable to this situation.

“Without persistence, you will be defeated, even before you start. With persistence you will win.” -Napoleon Hill

I honor these coaches for their hard work and dedication to the pursuit of their goals.  Best of luck to all coaches Re-testing for their National C License this weekend!
We want to hear from you! Do you have a soccer experience where you used perseverance to get you through a trying situation? If so, tell me about it!

Until next time, Keep the Ball Moving Forward!
Gary White

To learn more about Coaching Education in Washington, visit the Technical Zone on WashingtonYouthSoccer.org.

 

This entry was posted in Coaching, Coaching Education, Youth Soccer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Importance of Perserverance

  1. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author.I will remember to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back someday. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great posts, have a nice holiday weekend!
    My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content for yourself? I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or
    elaborating on most of the subjects you write related to here.

    Again, awesome web site!
    My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to looking into your web page again.

    I love what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and
    exposure! Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll.
    Hi I am so thrilled I found your website, I really found you by accident, while I was searching on Aol for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a incredible post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

